Hope For The Oceans        
                                 Islands of the South Pacific

                                                     Melanesia      Micronesia      Polynesia
                                                                                                                      Advertising On This Site 
Main Sections of Website
Hope For The Oceans
Crisis Overview
Global Warming
Coral Reefs
Endangered Oceanic Species
Endangered Oceanic Habitats
Collegiate Level Study Programs
Quotes About The Oceans
Poetry About The Oceans
Islands of the South Pacific
Diving Websites
Teacher Resources
Just For Kids
Hope For The Rain Forests



  The Fantasy Coral Reef Paintings of Lee James Pantas


The South Pacific has enjoyed a reputation as an untouched paradise ever since the 18th century when European explorers returned home with romantic tales about the islands and their people. It is a vast region, known as Oceania and defined geographically  into three major regions: Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia and enjoys a well deserved reputation as one of the most beautiful places on earth. No one knows for sure but it is estimated that there are between 20,000 and 30,000 islands in Oceania. Even though the islands are separated by great ocean distances, there are many similarities in cultures. The first colonizers of the South Pacific arrived in New Guinea from Southeast Asia  over 50,000 years ago and since that time  have spread throughout the region.

There is a wealth of information on the internet about the South Pacific, its history, cultures and geography,  and rather than present in depth information here, links to relevant, interesting and resource rich websites are provided.

Fiji, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, and  Vanuatu

Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Kiribati, Northern Mariana Islands,  Marshall Islands, Nauru and Palau

American Samoa, Easter Island, French Polynesia, Niue, Pitcairn Islands, The Cook Islands, Tokelau, Tuvalu and Wallis & Futuna